If you’re looking for adventure of Olympian proportions, there are numerous books like Percy Jackson available in young adult fantasy fiction.

Since its debut in 2005 with The Lightning Thief, Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson & the Olympians series has charmed children and teens. Young readers were wrapped up in the thrilling escapades of Percy, the half-blood demigod son of Poseidon. Percy Jackson enthralled readers by journeying into the Underworld and facing countless mythical monsters with his friends Grover and Annabeth. Selling over 45 million copies worldwide, Percy Jackson & the Olympians spent 223 weeks on the Times Best Seller list.

A wider audience was drawn into Percy Jackson’s otherworldly antics when 20th Century Fox adapted the first two novels onto the big screen in 2010. There are talks about making Percy Jackson: The Titan’s Curse into a film, but no release date is set. While die-hard fans await, there are other magical books like Percy Jackson to pass the time. Many high fantasy novels also depict fictional realms where mythological creatures roam wild. Courageous characters with latent powers engage in epic battles between good versus evil to save mankind.

When you’re craving more heroic quests, here are our recommendations for the top 50 books like Percy Jackson.

#1 – The Fire Thief

Terry Deary

the-fire-thief-books-like-percy-jackson

The Fire Thief is about Prometheus, a Greek Titan who’s chained to a rock before he’s rescued by his cousin Zeus. The Greek god of lightning sends Prometheus on a mission to find a true human hero. With magical wings, Prometheus travels into the future in Eden City. Here he befriends a petty criminal named Jim and his “Uncle” Edward. But the resurrected Fury is following closely behind.

#2 – Artemis Fowl

Eoin Colfer

artemis-fowl-books-like-percy-jackson

As the first in an eight-part series, Artemis Fowl follows the adventures of a 12-year-old mastermind leading the Fowl criminal empire. After stealing the Fairy holy book, Artemis is able to kidnap Captain Holly Short of the Lower Elements Police. Holding Holly in Fowl Manor, Artemis sets the ransom demand at one metric ton of 24-carat gold. Can the LEP rescue the Fairy before time stops?

#3 – The Lost Years of Merlin

T.A. Barron

the-lost-years-of-merlin-books-like-percy-jackson

The Lost Years of Merlin begins a five-part series of books like Percy Jackson that share the story of renowned wizard Merlin’s childhood. A tumultuous sea tosses a young boy named Emrys upon the sandy beaches of ancient Wales. Left for dead, Emrys finds he has magic powers when defending against a bullying boar. He then begins an enchanted quest to learn the truth about his mysterious skills.

#4 – Secret of the Sirens

Julia Golding

secret-of-the-sirens-books-like-percy-jackson

Published in 2006, Secret of the Sirens is a fantasy novel quartet taking place in the fictional British land of Hescombe. Living with her Aunt Evelyn, 11-year-old Connie Lionheart discovers she possesses the special power of communicating with animals. She learns that the malicious Kullervo is gathering an army of mythical creatures to reclaim Earth’s rule. Connie must now stop the creatures before they can eradicate humans.

#5 – The Amulet of Samarkand

Jonathan Stroud

the-amulet-of-samarkand-books-like-percy-jackson

This book begins The Bartimaeus Triology about a young apprentice named Nathaniel who’s taking his first lessons in magic. When the devious wizard Simon Lovelace humiliates him before his elders, Nathaniel pledges his revenge. He rallies all his magic into summoning the 5,000-year-old dijinni Bartimaeus to steal Lovelace’s precious amulet. But he finds himself losing control and wrapped up in a cyclone of magical espionage.

#6 – The Stonekeeper

Kazu Kibuishi

the-stonekeeper-books-like-percy-jackson

The Stonekeeper is one of the graphic novels like Percy Jackson that entertains readers with man-eating demons, talking foxes, and gigantic robots. After their father’s death, Emily and Navin move with their mother into their grandfather’s home. Soon they begin encountering sinister creatures lurking in the basement. The children are dragged into a dark underground world where they face terrifying monsters with the help of a mechanical rabbit called Miskit.

#7 – Sweet Venom

Tera Lynn Childs

sweet-venom-books-like-percy-jackson

Like many books like Percy Jackson, Sweet Venom transforms ancient Greek mythology into modern-day life. After moving to a new school in San Francisco, Gretchen is stunned to see a minotaur walk through the door. It’s even more shocking when two identical girls show up to fight the monster. Soon Gretchen discovers she’s part of supernatural triplets descended from Medusa. Will she embrace her minotaur-hunting fate?

#8 – A World Without Heroes

Brandon Mull

a-world-without-heroes-books-like-percy-jackson

Brandon Mull’s best-selling fantasy series begins with A World Without Heroes. Jason Walker is an ordinary zookeeper living a predictable life until everything changes. He’s suddenly teleported from the hippo tank to a mysterious world called Lyrian. Since the cruel Emperor Maldor gained power, Lyrians no longer welcome visitors from the Beyond. Jason must team up with fellow human Rachel to find the way home.

#9 – The Recruit

Robert Muchamore

the-recruit-books-like-percy-jackson

Popular in the UK, The Recruit follows the story of James Choke, a trouble-making 12-year-old, who is recruited to CHERUB. This secret organization consists of highly trained teenage agents who spy on terrorists and stop global threats. Under the watchful eye of Dr. Terrence McAfferty, James passes all of his entrance exams. Now he must complete a 100-day Basic Training course that even the toughest recruits often don’t survive.

#10 – Raven’s Gate

Anthony Horowitz

ravens-gate-books-like-percy-jackson

Starting off The Gatekeepers series, this edge-of-your-seat fantasy novel is about 14-year-old Matthew Freeman. When breaking into a warehouse with his friend Kelvin, Matt is caught by a security guard. Kelvin stabs the guard, but a horrified Matt calls the police for help. Matt is convicted of the crime he didn’t commit. He’s allowed to choose jail or living in the remote town of Lesser Malling. Except what’s awaiting is the evil Raven’s Gate.

#11 – The Knife of Never Letting Go

Patrick Ness

the-knife-of-never-letting-go-books-like-percy-jackson

The Knife of Never Letting Go takes place in Prentisstown, a New World town left with an entirely male population after a disastrous germ. As a side effect, all remaining men can hear one another’s thoughts. Todd Hewitt, the only boy left, soon learns about the town’s horrifying secret and decides to flee with his dog Manchee. But Todd then encounters the biggest mystery of all: a young girl.

#12 – Magyk

Angie Sage

magyk-books-like-percy-jackson

At 564 pages, Magyk is a lengthy tale that begins when Silas Heap discovers a baby girl with violet eyes abandoned in the winter snow. Because their newborn Septimus died, Silas and his wife decide to raise the girl as Jenna. On her 10th birthday, Jenna learns that she’s the assassinated queen’s daughter from the ExtraOrdinary Wizard, Marcia Overstrand. Jenna is whisked away to the Marram Marshes with the villainous Supreme Custodian in pursuit.

#13 – The Song of the Lioness

Tamora Pierce

the-song-of-the-lioness-books-like-percy-jackson

The Song of the Lioness quartet series is about a young tomboy named Alanna of Trebond who disguises herself as “Alan.” In place of her twin brother Thom, Alanna heads to the royal palace in Corus for knighthood training. Here she befriends the charming Prince Jonathan. Together they travel across the southern desert to battle the Ysandir and free the Black City from demons.

#14 – Redwall

Brian Jacques

redwall-books-like-percy-jackson

Animal villagers in Redwall Abbey are basking in the splendid Summer of the Late Rose. Yet an imminent threat is secretly looming. Cluny the Scourge, a one-eyed rate warlord, is waging a brutal battle to regain Redwall’s rule. Despite being the town’s most awkward novice, Matthias the Mouse looks to recover the sword of Martin the Warrior. With a badger and a mute squirrel, Matthias vows to defeat Cluny’s covetous horde.

#15 – Maximum Ride

James Patterson

maximum-ride-books-like-percy-jackson

Featuring books like Percy Jackson, the nine-part Maximum Ride series follows the adventures of 14-year-old Max, a young girl with wings. When the youngest member of her Flock, Angel, is kidnapped, Max joins forces with Fang, Iggy, Nudge, and Gasman for her rescue. The friends must traverse through Death Valley and fight off half-wolf “Erasers” to reach the School where Angel is being experimented on.

#16 – Antigoddess

Kendare Blake

antigoddess-books-like-percy-jackson

In Antigoddess, the two ancient Olympians Athena and Hermes are suffering slow, painful deaths. Athena’s body is being strangled by feathers and Hermes’ flesh is being eaten away by fever. Both start traveling the world to find a cure, which leads them to Cassandra. Once a superior prophetess, Cassandra discovers a cruel war is brewing. Who can stop the anti-gods from killing off these seemingly immortal beings?

#17 – Pendragon: Journal of an Adventure through Time and Space

D. J. MacHale

pendragon-journal-of-an-adventure-through-time-and-space-books-like-percy-jackson

This 10-part series of fantasy novels tells the story of Bobby Pendragon, an ordinary junior high student in Connecticut. Bobby’s Uncle Press is training him to join the space-journeying warriors called Travelers. Using ancient tubes called flumes, Bobby learns to travel among the 10 territories of the Halla. Bobby and the Travelers endeavor to stop the demon Saint Dane before he can declare totalitarian authority.

#18 – The Mysterious Benedict Society

Trenton Lee Stewart

the-mysterious-benedict-society-books-like-percy-jackson

The Mysterious Benedict Society begins with 11-year-old orphan Reynie Muldoon responding to poster recruiting “gifted children looking for special opportunities.” He’s suddenly immersed in a mysterious world with three other child geniuses: Kate, Constance, and Sticky. Together, they’re taught by Mr. Benedict at an isolated academy to foster their special talents. However, it’s discovered they’re training to help a criminal mastermind take over the planet.

#19 – Harry Potter Series

J.K. Rowling

harry-potter-series-books-like-percy-jackson

Perhaps the most popular books like Percy Jackson, Harry Potter is centered on a young wizard attending the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Along with his friends Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley, Harry is taught about magic wands, potions, and spells to succeed in the wizarding world. The series follows his thrilling adventure to stop the Dark wizard, Lord Voldemort, from becoming immortal and overthrowing the Ministry of Magic.

#20 – The Usborne Illustrated Guide to Greek Myths and Legends

Cheryl Evans

the-usborne-illustrated-guide-to-greek-myths-and-legends-books-like-percy-jackson

Beautifully illustrated by Rodney Matthews, The Usborne Illustrated Guide to Greek Myths and Legends is a colorful resource that introduces readers to the mythical legends of Ancient Greece. The book includes over 200 entries depicting the supernatural abilities of Greek gods, both heroes and villains. Vital information is outlined for the Greek myths that are encountered in many books like Percy Jackson.

#21 – The Princess and the Goblin

George MacDonald

the-princess-and-the-goblin-books-like-percy-jackson

Published in 1872, The Princess and the Goblin is classic fantasy novel about eight-year-old Princess Irene who’s locked in a castle with only her nursemaid Lootie. Unbeknownst to her, Irene’s castle is surrounded by mines inhabited by goblins. A young miner named Curdie overhears the plot to dig tunnels into the castle, abduct Princess Irene, and marry her to the goblin prince Harelip. Can he warn Irene in time?

#22 – The Grimm Legacy

Polly Shulman

the-grimm-legacy-books-like-percy-jackson

Lonely teen Elizabeth is elated when she lands her first job at the New York Circulating Material Repository in Manhattan. She’s even given access to the Grimm Collection, a secret underground room housing magical objects from the Brothers’ fairy tales. But soon items, including the Evil Queen’s Magic Mirror, start disappearing. Elizabeth and her colleagues Marc, Anjali, and Aaron are pulled into a heart-pounding escapade to retrieve them.

#23 – The Apothecary

Maile Meloy

the-apothecary-books-like-percy-jackson

Taking place in 1952, The Apothecary is about Janie Scott, a 14-year-old girl whose family moved unexpectedly from Los Angeles to London. There she visits the neighborhood apothecary to receive a homesickness cure. Janie becomes enamored with his rebellious son, Benjamin Burrows, who wants to become a spy. When the apothecary suddenly disappears, the duo must use the ancient Pharmacopoeia to find him and thwart an imminent nuclear attack.

#24 – The Pig Scrolls

Paul Shipton

the-pig-scrolls-books-like-percy-jackson

Gryllus, a sardonic former crewman for Odysseus, has been changed into a pig by Circe. He’s happy living the swine life until the prophetess Sibyl turns up at Big Stavros’s Kebab Bar. She informs Gryllus that all the Olympian gods are missing and in grave danger. So the talking pig starts a thrilling, comical journey to Apollo’s temple in Delphi to save Ancient Greece from utter destruction.

#25 – The Sea of Trolls

Nancy Farmer

the-sea-of-trolls-books-like-percy-jackson

Written by a three-time Newbery Medal winner, The Sea of Trolls is about an 11-year-old Saxon apprentice named Jack who’s kidnapped with his little sister Lucy. Enslaved by Olaf One-Brow, the children are taken to court of King Ivar the Boneless. Here one of Jack’s misfired spells causes the half-troll queen’s hair to fall out. Queen Frith forces him on a treacherous quest across the Sea of Trolls to reverse the spell.

#26 – Bone

Jeff Smith

bone-books-like-percy-jackson

Featuring 55 issues, Bone is a series of comic books like Percy Jackson that centers on the three bald-headed Bone cousins. Phoncible, Smiley, and Fone Bone are driven out of Boneville after a failed campaign for mayor. While traversing the desert, the trio are separated by a sea of locusts. Individually, they all end up in the mysterious Valley. The Bones are quickly drawn into the Valley’s battle against the Lord of the Locusts.

#27 – The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod

Heather Brewer

the-chronicles-of-vladimir-tod-books-like-percy-jackson

Spanning from eighth to 12th grade, The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod is a five-part series of graphic novels. First introduced at 13, Vladimir is the half-blood son of a human and vampire. Being harassed by bullies isn’t his biggest problem; he’s struggling with blood cravings and growing fangs. Vladimir is unaware of his heightened supernatural powers until he must battle for his life against a vampire killer.

#28 – Tunnels

Roderick Gordon

tunnels-books-like-percy-jackson

Tunnels shares the story of an intelligent 14-year-old, Will Burrows, who is the son of a renowned archaeologist. When Dr. Burrows mysteriously goes missing, Will and his friend Chester begin searching for him. Behind a bookshelf, they find a blocked tunnel and begin digging through. What they unearth is a secret subterranean society called “The Colony.” Will and Chester must race time to save Dr. Burrows from the cult-like Styx.

#29 – Mark of the Thief

Jennifer A. Nielsen

mark-of-the-thief-books-like-percy-jackson

Similar to other books like Percy Jackson, Mark of the Thief is an exhilarating tale about a young Roman slave named Nic. Forced into a sealed cavern, Nic stumbles upon the lost treasure of Julius Caesar. Among the gold and gemstones is the bulla, an ancient amulet filled with godly magic. As the Praetor War sparks, a ruthless conspiracy begins to steal Nic’s newfound powers for darkness.

#30 – The False Prince

Jennifer A. Nielsen

the-false-prince-books-like-percy-jackson

Starting the Ascendance Trilogy, this children’s fantasy novel is about a 14-year-old orphan named Sage. After stealing a roast, Sage barely escapes the butcher’s wrath thanks to nobleman Bevin Conner. Noting a resemblance to the lost Prince Jaron, Conner buys the young boy and takes him to Carthya. Sage is fraudulently placed upon the throne, but he must now protect the kingdom from attacks by neighboring Avenia.

#31 – The City of Ember

Jeanne DuPrau

the-city-of-ember-books-like-percy-jackson

Life has gone pitch black except for the yellowish glow in the domed city of Ember. But the city’s floodlights are starting to flicker as electricity is sapped. 12-year-old friends Lina Mayfleet and Doon Harrow seem to be the only ones afraid. When Lina discovers an ancient document titled “Instructions for Egress,” the two must piece together the cryptic puzzle. Failing would engulf the world in darkness forevermore.

#32 – The Paladin Prophecy

Mark Frost

the-paladin-prophecy-books-like-percy-jackson

Readers of books like Percy Jackson can find more mind-bending adventure in The Paladin Prophecy. Will West is a high school student who deliberately obscures his unique abilities. Yet when he scored phenomenally well on a standardized exam, Will becomes targeted by men in black sedans. His only option is to join the Center for Integrated Learning. Will unleashing his psychic prowess stop the unworldly beings from pursuing him?

#33 – Reckless

Cornelia Funke

reckless-books-like-percy-jackson

Inspired by the Brothers Grimm, Reckless is a fantasy tale about 12-year-old Jacob Reckless who discovers a mystical mirror in his father’s study. For years, Jacob builds a secret life in Mirrorworld by finding enchanted items. But tragedy strikes when Jacob’s younger brother, Will, follows him through the mirror. Will is attacked and turned into a ruthless Goyl. Jacob must now summon his reckless spirit to reverse the dooming spell.

#34 – The Young Elites

Marie Lu

the-young-elites-books-like-percy-jackson

A decade ago, the deadly blood fever swept across Earth and killed the infected children. All except Adelina Amouteru. Left with silver hair and a jagged scar, Adelina is exiled as an abomination. That’s until she meets the Young Elites, a group of teenagers with powerful gifts, and finally fits in. But the King’s Inquisition Axis vows to destroy the Young Elites before they destroy the nation.

#35 – Gregor the Overlander

Suzanne Collins

gregor-the-overlander-books-like-percy-jackson

Written by The Hunger Games author Suzanne Collins, this fantasy novel is about 11-year-old Gregor who falls through an air duct grate into a subterranean society. He enters the “Underland,” which is inhabited by pallid humans, giant bats, rodents, and insects. Soon Gregor is unwittingly caught up in an escalating war between the Regalians and the rats’ King Gorger. Gregor begins recruiting allies to defeat the rats and save his father.

#36 – The Hobbit

J.R.R. Tolkien

the-hobbit-books-like-percy-jackson

The Hobbit depicts the early life of a peace-loving hobbit named Bilbo Baggins. When the wizard Gandalf the Grey shows up at his shire’s doorstep, Bilbo is suddenly thrust into a risky adventure with 13 fortune-seeking dwarves. It’s their goal to reclaim a stolen treasure from the dragon Smaug in the Lonely Mountains. While traversing Middle Earth, they encounter a cavernous creature named Gollum from whom Bilbo wins a magical ring.

#37 – The Lord of the Rings

J.R.R. Tolkien

the-lord-of-the-rings-books-like-percy-jackson

Selling over 150 million copies worldwide, The Lord of the Rings begins a Middle Earth trilogy following Bilbo Baggins’ cousin Frodo. Along with his hobbit friends Sam, Merry, and Pippin, Frodo endeavors to destroy the One Ring created by the Dark Lord Sauron. Together the four must fend off enemies corruptly influenced by the Ring’s power. Luckily, allies like Aragorn, Legolas, and Gimli aid them.

#38 – The Cabinet of Wonders

Marie Rutkoski

the-cabinet-of-wonders-books-like-percy-jackson

In late-16th century Bohemia, 12-year-old Petra Kronos’ life is forever changed when her father returns from Prague completely blind. After Petra’s father was commissioned to build an astronomical clock, the Prince stole his eyes and enchanted them. With her friend Neel, Petra begins the perilous quest to Salamander Castle for retrieving the eyes. But she finds that her father’s clock is capable of annihilating the world.

#39 – Talon

Julie Kagawa

talon-books-like-percy-jackson

After being hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, dragons have infiltrated human life to secretly grow their population. Siblings Ember and Dante Hill are the newest recruits to the dragon society called Talon. After the Order sights them, the young soldier Garret Xavier Sebastian is sent to hunt them. That’s until Garret sees Ember’s bravery firsthand and starts questioning everything ingrained in him.

#40 – The Colossus Rises

Peter Lerangis

the-colossus-rises-books-like-percy-jackson

Beginning the Seven Wonders series, this high-octane novel centers on Jack McKinley, a 13-year-old boy told he has six months to live. Jack is kidnapped and taken to a mysterious island where a secret institute vows to save him. The only condition is he must retrieve seven magic Loculi from the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. Jack, Marco, Aly, and Cass start their death-defying journey at the Colossus of Rhodes.

#41 – Runemarks

Joanne Harris

runemarks-books-like-percy-jackson

Runemarks is about a troubled, teenage girl named Maddy who’s ostracized because of the rust-colored runemark on her palm. It isn’t until Maddy drives goblins out of the village’s inn that she discovers her latent magical powers. A mysterious traveler named One-Eye teaches Maddy to command every ounce of her magic. Together they search for treasure buried in Red Horse Hill, but instead find confrontation with The Order.

#42 – The Red Pyramid

Rick Riordan

the-red-pyramid-books-like-percy-jackson

Also written by Percy Jackson & The Olympians author Rick Riordan, this fantasy novel is about two estranged siblings, Carter and Sadie. Once living on different continents, the two are brought together by their father, Dr. Julius Kane, for a “research experiment.” Instead, he awakens the Egyptian god Set from the British Museum. Now Carter and Sadie are forced to flee as more ancient gods become unleashed.

#43 – Mister Monday

Garth Nix

mister-monday-books-like-percy-jackson

Mister Monday begins on Arthur Penhaligon’s first day of junior high when an asthma attack nearly claims his life. But a mysterious form hands him a key that saves his breath. When he awakens, strange things start happening. A new house suddenly appears on his street, a bizarre plague breaks out, and terrifying creatures called Fetchers emerge. Arthur soon learns that Mister Monday will do anything to reclaim his key.

#44 – The Ruins of Gorlan

John Flanagan

the-ruins-of-gorlan-books-like-percy-jackson

Australian author John Flanagan starts the Ranger’s Apprentice series in Araleun where Will and his warmates Horace, Alyss, George, and Jenny are preparing for Choosing Day. Will decides to apprentice with the Rangers, a secret intelligence group with long-range weapons. It’s soon revealed that Morgarath, an exiled lord, is carefully planning his revenge on Araleun with his former fief, Gorlan. The Rangers prepare for battle against his army of Wargals.

#45 – Inkheart

Cornelia Funke

inkheart-books-like-percy-jackson

The Inkheart trilogy centers around 12-year-old Meggie, the daughter of bookbinder Mortimer Folchart with an avid love for reading. One night, Mo reads aloud to Meggie from a book titled “Inkheart.” Suddenly, the book’s evil villain escapes the pages and lands smack in their living room. Meggie must quickly learn to harness the magic summoning this nightmare before her life is forever changed.

#46 – Charis: Journey to Pandora’s Jar

Nicole Walters

charis-journey-to-pandoras-jar-books-like-percy-jackson

Often called the female Percy Jackson, Charis is a spirited, 13-year-old girl who’s given five days to save mankind from the dark forces of Hades and the Erinyes Sisters. Together with the Greek god Athena and her friend Gabe, Charis begins a plot-twisting journey to reverse the curse of Pandora’s Jar. Can she successfully release the spirit of Hope before it’s too late?

#47 – The Chronicles of Narnia

C.S. Lewis

the-chronicles-of-narnia-books-like-percy-jackson

The Chronicles of Narnia is a popular, seven-part fantasy series following four siblings: Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy Pevensie. As World War II breaks out, the Pevensie family is forced to evacuate to the English countryside. While staying at Professor Digory Kirke’s home, the four children discover a magical wardrobe leading to the realm of Narnia. The Pevensies join forces with the lion Aslan and other talking animals to stop the White Witch’s evil plans.

#48 – Anatopsis

Chris Abouzeid

anatopsis-books-like-percy-jackson

Princess Anatopsis Solomon is the 13-year-old, immortal daughter of the Amalgamated Witchcraft Corporation’s chairwoman. Despite her wishes to become a knight-errant, Ana is forced to prepare for her Bacchanalian exams. Her mother hires a mysterious tutor named Mr. Pound who’s actually a demigod. Ana uncovers Mr. Pound’s quest to claim the powerful “Os Divinitas” for a rebel army. Along with her pals Barnaby and Clarissa, the Princess must thwart his malicious efforts.

#49 – Fablehaven

Brandon Mull

fablehaven-books-like-percy-jackson

Featuring five books, the Fablehaven series is about a secret nature preserve where mythical creatures are protected from the mortal world. 13-year-old Kendra Sorenson and her younger brother Seth are visiting their grandparents when Grandma mysteriously goes missing. After solving an intricate puzzle, the siblings discover the magical world of Fablehaven. Along with fairies and satyrs, the duo must save Grandma and stop a powerful demon’s plague.

#50 – Incarceron

Catherine Fisher

incarceron-books-like-percy-jackson

Incarceron tells the story of two teenage friends, Finn and Claudia, who are locked in a futuristic prison within a 17th century world run by computers. They came from the Outside, but have no memories of anything beyond Incarceron’s dank corridors. The warden, Sapienti, has arranged Claudia’s marriage to the insipid Prince Caspar. Desperate for escape, Claudia sneaks into Sapienti’s office and finds a crystal key that could unlock freedom.

After devouring Rick Riordan’s popular fantasy series, die-hard fans of mythology should consider adding some of these 50 great books like Percy Jackson to their reading lists.